The ultimate fulfillment…

A young girl who is currently doing her PhD from a prestigious university, wrote to me how she is being made to suffer at the hands of prejudiced people both within her department as well as the university administration who are making her academic life extremely difficult… she feels totally devastated by all these injustices… so what should she do?

I wanted to write back immediately but then took some time to think over her problems and prayed to Allah to inspire me with the best response… Alhamdulillah this morning I finally gave her whatever advice Allah put in my heart… here it is:

Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu…

First of all let me explain why I didn’t write back instantly… the reason is that I am a very passionate person and sometimes in the depths of my emotions I fail to remember that other people are looking at things from a totally different perspective… and the irony is that even though in all sincerity I wish for them to see the reality of life and to wake up from their slumber… but then I often end up hurting their feelings… This has been a most painful lesson for me to learn but finally I have been able to persuade myself that this is not the best way to go…

And so to give my protective emotions a pause, I told myself that I will write when I am able to speak from my mind instead of my emotions… because to tell you the truth my heart just went out to you and reading all the injustices of these so called educated and qualified people… I just wanted to pick you up from this lousy situation and put you in the real place of learning where your soul will find true peace because you will finally be unravelling the mysteries of life and death which no other university can ever teach… and you will find the ultimate bliss which no PhD can ever give you… ever… 

But knowing that this is from my heart… the heart which has learnt its lessons over a period of years… and is still learning because day after day, event after event, it becomes more and more evident to me that this world is only for our needs and we get to enjoy only in the Paradise where everything will be perfect the way we want it to be… perfect happiness which can never be spoiled by anything or anyone… and so if I have to strive for anything, it has to be something which will lead me to paradise… 

It reminds me of a time when I was volunteering at a primary school and went there only part time… so when I entered the class of 7 year olds and began teaching, no one was paying attention, and I asked them what was the matter? they said they didnt get any break for lunch… I went straight to the office with all that rage boiling inside me:- why were they keeping the children hungry? And the headmistress smiled and said dont you know we are going to give them a party after your period… so if we gave them lunch break then they wouldnt be able to enjoy the yummy treats that have been prepared for them…

Maybe I didnt quite understand the logic that day, but now after thinking so much about your problems… which seem so unreasonable… I mean you could understand if people were being bad to bad people but why would they target innocent souls like you? I can understand people being mean and cruel to those who have hurt them, but why would they not be kind and caring about those who have been serving them with all sincerity for years and years? why are all these injustices being done? there is surely no reason for it except if we look it from the perspective of Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala… because from our own perspective all that we can feel is frustration… just as those 7 year olds who couldnt understand why were they being kept hungry?? But from the perspective of the elders they were not being treated unjustly… rather they were going to have so much enjoyment and pleasure only in a little while… so what if they faced a little pain for it… which will be forgotten in an instant…

I remember a Hadith I heard once… that when a person who has had the most difficult and painful life will enter jannah and as soon as the first breath of cool fragrant air touches him… he will be asked: did you ever suffer any pain in your life? And he will swear that he never saw any pain… On the other hand a person who spent the most lavish and extravagant life full of pleasures… and he enters hell fire… and as soon as the first flames will scorch him, he will be asked:- did you ever see any happiness in life? He will swear that he never had anything but pain… 

So you see this is the test of life that even while living in this dream of a worldly life… we have to keep reminding ourselves of the reality… and the reality cannot seem real unless and until we immerse ourselves in the process of learning directly from Allah in His words and subsequently in the words of His Prophet (s.a.w.)

It doesnt mean that there will be no more problems after that… but the thing is that you will experience a sweetness of contentment and peace which Allah did not put in any other thing except in His love and His mercy which flows out of His words… The Quran is our window to reality from which we can see outside the prison of our worldly problems which have been given to us as a test… 

to those who do not see out of that window, this nightmare becomes a reality and what choice do they have except to get devastated and depressed? 

even people like me who have experienced the Quran still get depressed when the connection with Allah gets weak… when I do not put in enough effort… when I give the worldly stuff more importance… then the reality of hereafter starts getting foggy and the world takes over like a monster… but then I hold my Quran and shed tears of istighfaar and life returns to my dying heart… 

the same therapy is needed by each and everyone of us…

I end with a Hadith: When Allah loves a person He puts him through trials… 

And the obvious interpretation is that Allah doesnt completely satisfy us in this world and keeps us thirsty for the things that our nafs wants… so that we can keep returning back to Him for the real fulfillment instead of getting lost in this world…

So may Allah protect your truthful heart and may you find His true love through His eternal message which he has kept preserved from all those long centuries… for you and me and all humanity… till the end of time:)

4 thoughts on “The ultimate fulfillment…

  1. By the way, you forgot to add that your inspiring message led that girl to wear the hijab! And, it’s her first day today. Jazak Allah Khair.

    • No I didnt forget:)
      But wanted to share at a later stage… so as to let the readers to get their own impressions first:)

  2. The trials are also a mercy from Allah…. i felt many times that every pain makes us more mature and God conscious….. jazakallah khair dear sister

Leave a Reply

