life and death

Last evening as I was going about my various tasks in the kitchen, my son came in and said: Ammi did you hear about the plane crash? I said no, where did it happen? He told me it was a flight from chitral to Islamabad… and I said inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi rajioon… then in a slow and soft voice he added: Junaid Jamshed was also in it… and I exclaimed in shock and disbelief… what? Junaid jamshed? He said yes his name was on the passenger list… and then with my heart full of grief and eyes full of tears I turned on the tv and for a change listened to the news…all the while hoping that someone will say that no it was a mistake… or that he missed the flight…or anything by which we could be saved from this loss of a true believer…

It seemed so unbelievable how he could be gone just like that? Why would Allah take his life? He was such a precious asset to this nation… then why??

But then slowly and surely the shock and disbelief gave way to clarity and acceptance… and I was horrified to realize that how could I have forgotten the very essence of our life… that it is to leave with a brilliant record… and whoever has been successful in choosing Allah’s path and he lives and dies on this path is to be congratulated and not to be felt sorry for…

So I pray that may Allah give Him the highest rewards of paradise for which he sacrificed so many pleasures of this world… and may Allah enable us all to make this wise choice too… ameen

The most amazing moment in my re-awakening this morning was when I listened to my daily lesson of Tafseer and exactly the same ayaat of surah al-baqarah came which not only made me see the reality and gave me solace but also taught me that if we want to really live and not just exist then this is the way to go about it…

يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا اسْتَعِينُوا بِالصَّبْرِ وَالصَّلَاةِ ۚ إِنَّ اللَّهَ مَعَ الصَّابِرِينَ {153}

 O you who believe! seek assistance through patience and prayer; surely Allah is with the patient.

وَلَا تَقُولُوا لِمَنْ يُقْتَلُ فِي سَبِيلِ اللَّهِ أَمْوَاتٌ ۚ بَلْ أَحْيَاءٌ وَلَٰكِنْ لَا تَشْعُرُونَ {154}

And do not speak of those who are slain in Allah’s way as dead; nay, (they are) alive, but you do not perceive.

2 thoughts on “life and death

  1. Assalam u alaikum wr dear shaheen

    Jazakillahu khairen for this post….

    Equally amazing is the tilawah in the last jummah hw prayed…

    ….the very same ayaat.

    SubhanAllah

  2. Dear Rabia… assalamualaikum wa rahmatullah wa barakatuhu
    JazakAllah khairan for sharing this video… no words to express the loss I feel… but I am happy that at least someone passed the test of this world with flying colours giving hope to people like me that it can be done… provided we are ready to pay the price… of our ego and our petty interests… may Allah guide me and all of us… ameen

Leave a Reply

