The Wild Mulberries…

Different people like different parts of their homes… and I like windows the best… because they enable me to look at the sky and the sky is my thinking canvas…

Just as a painter paints on his canvas, similarly the sky is where I paint my thoughts… In a tiny fraction of a second my thoughts can just make me fly from my room out into the limitless skies… and I can think and evaluate and dream…

But what I really want to share in this post is not my dreams but the reality which I saw today… the reality of how Allah can remove the problems from your life whenever he wants… without you doing anything except for praying and hoping for his mercy…

What happened is that this morning when I looked out of the window in my room, my eyes rested on the wild mulberry trees and bushes outside the boundary wall of our house…They are in abundance and growing even wilder in this rainy season… I am very fond of trees in general but this one tree I just don’t like… it gives me a sad and lonely feeling when I see it but this morning I thought that even this has been created by Allah and how beautiful the leaves look… all broad and straight… parallel to one another and ready to catch all the rain and sunshine… busy in making oxygen for us that we breathe… so maybe I should not dislike it…

But then I thought that because of their overpowering presence I cannot see the beautiful shrubs and trees behind them… also they hide most of the skyline too… I don’t even remember what dua I made but since my heart was feeling the burden of my various problems, I guess I just asked for Allah to help me to solve them… at the back of my mind I was thinking how weak I was and how incapable of finding solutions…

After that thinking and praying session I just remembered that I had forgotten to pray the nafls of ishraaq… so I made wudhu and started praying… it hardly took 5 minutes or so but all that time I could hear some strange sounds… it seemed like someone was striking and cutting something hard… Imagine my surprise that when I finished my prayer and looked out the window to see what was happening… the mulberry trees had all been cut off… just like that… I was standing there speechless…

It seemed like a direct message from Allah that my job is to believe in his strength and power… and not to be overwhelmed with problems… even if I feel too weak and incapable of solving them. Sometimes the shaitan makes you lose hope that why isn’t there any response from Allah when you are making duas to him all the time? But we should remind ourselves that there is certainly a response every time we call him… even though it might not be visible to the eyes… And then there are times when Allah does send a “visible” response too but we are too busy blaming others and wallowing in self pity to see these signs…

But the windows of our homes and the windows of our souls are the outlets from these frustrating thoughts… So this morning’s incident proved to me that no matter how big we think our problems are but we should never forget that nothing is too big for Allah… if we remain true to him… believe in him… pray to him… make him the nucleus of our lives… depend on him only… then he can remove the wild mulberries of our lives in as little time as it takes to pray two rakahs… so is too difficult?

5 thoughts on “The Wild Mulberries…

  1. Asalamualykum sister shaheen , shabeena here ……. from spain, today I was going through your minhajul qasideen , believe me it was like my life I am going through all what you have experienced .I want to lmpove my relationship with quran please can I talk to you personally or any private email , please help me , I am literally sailing my ship alone
    Wassalam

  2. Dear Sister Shabeena… Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu
    You need not be alone anymore… we are all together in this journey and it will be my honour if I can be of any help… you can email me on shaheen_pk69@yahoo.com
    Lots of duas and love:)

Leave a Reply

