Digging into the treasure of Hadith…

Whenever I am about to start a new series of lectures, I ask myself these questions: “Do I really want to learn for the sake of Allah? Or is it just a good way to pass my time? How can I make it most beneficial for my duniya and akhirah?”

As I got my things together to sit in peace and listen to the online class of Sahih Bukhari… the great book of Hadith… the same questions began to swirl around me and I realized that the most important thing would be to thank Allah that he had freed my mind and my life from all unnecessary things and enabled me to invest my time in the pursuit of knowledge and inspiration with which I might improve my character and deeds to please Allah (swt)… and the best way to express my thanks and appreciation for this great knowledge would be to share it with others. So I made this silent promise to myself that after every session I would devote a slot of time in which to share the points which touched me most of all so that they get inscribed not just in my diary or in my blog or in my mind… rather I wish them all to take permanent residence in my heart and soul so that they stir me into becoming a better person by implementing them in my day to day life… Like my teacher always says:

Knowledge is not what you have collected as information rather it is the experience you have attained by acting upon it which becomes a part of your character and personality… that is your share of the knowledge… that only is your wisdom.

My teacher Dr Farhat Hashmi taught the book Sahih Bukhari many years ago but had to discontinue while some of its chapters were still remaining. Now after 18 years she has restarted the journey from where she had left. When she told this fact at the start of the lecture I was just so extremely amazed at her determination and her undying hope in Allah’s help and mercy. Any ordinary person like me would give up after not being able to complete a thing for 18 weeks or 18 months thinking whats the use to do it now… or what does it matter anyway… after all she has done such a huge amount of work in all these years… so she could have thought that it was enough what she had done so what’s the big deal if one book was left incomplete… BUT NO… that’s not the way great people think… they are committed till the end and this is what makes them so great in Allah’s eyes.

So this is the first lesson I learnt in todays session even before it began… that if you cannot complete some important stuff then no matter how many months or years go by you can still get back to it and look towards Allah for his help and guidance… Because He is the one whose mercy has no end… so our hopes in him should also never end…

And so when she started giving the lecture she began by praising Allah and with so much feeling and passion that it made her cry and I was again sitting there mesmerised and speechless… surely when the heart feels the importance of something then the words are not merely words… rather they become alive with passion when they emerge straight from the heart and overflow through the eyes too…

So the next lesson I learned was to have that awareness of Allah’s mercy which moves the heart… and that awareness cannot be attained unless you live for Allah and spend your days and nights in his remembrance and seeking his pleasure even when people are benefitting from you and express their pleasure to you.

Today’s session was devoted to a short re-cap of Imaam Bukhari (may Allah have mercy on him) and to find out what was so different about him that Allah chose him to be the author of the greatest book of Hadith.

First comes the role of a mother… and the blessings which come in the form of adversities…

Imam Bukhari became an orphan when he was a small child. His mother had to bear the great responsibility of raising him alone. He became very ill and lost his eyesight… imagine what a calamity it must have been for that woman whose small son had become blind… she was a great pious woman and so she just put her trust in Allah and begged him to heal her son and promised to devote him in the path of Allah… she made constant duas and cried to Allah day after day until one night she saw in her dream that Prophet Ibrahim (a.s.) was telling her that Allah had listened to her duas and due to her crying and begging he has recovered her son. The next day she woke up to find that the dream had come true and her son could see after all…

The lesson in this story is that Allah has his ways of blessing us… if he had not caused the father to die early this woman could not have given such an undivided and passionate attention to her son…

If Allah had not taken his eyesight this child could not have gained such a sharp memory because when one sense is taken away, it causes all the other senses to become exceptionally strong and receptive.

Also it was this illness and loss of sight which made his mother pray such intensely and consistently to Allah and to cry and make duas like she would not have made in ordinary circumstances.

And imagine the happiness she must have experienced when the child became well again and regained his sight… what must have been the state of her heart? What gratitude must she have to experience such a miracle?

The determination with which she educated her son and raised him as a righteous muslim… was all due to experiencing the endless mercy of Allah through adversity… and the consequence is that whatever Imam Bukhari achieved in his life went into his mother’s account by virtue of her undying hope in Allah and her praying and her commitment.

So this holds a great lesson for me and all the mothers that we should stop blaming people and circumstances for whatever we think is lacking in our children and once and for all decide that this is a matter between us and our Lord… pray to him only… cry before him… complain to him only… remember our sins and ask forgiveness… do whatever good that we can to compensate for our shortcomings of the past and BELIEVE in Allah that he can heal the hearts and he can return the sight of the hearts that have gone blind… just like he can return the sight to eyes that become blind…

5 thoughts on “Digging into the treasure of Hadith…

  1. MashaALLAH so true ,very clearly and beautifully written
    We as mothers know it’s quick to blame others but we have to Trust ALLAH SWT He is on control
    Our job is to turn to Him repeatedly earnestly night and day
    May ALLAHSWT reward you immensely for posting this and to Ustadha for sharing Baarak ALLAHu Fikum .Please do continue sharing it is very beneficial to all of us.Remember all of us and our families in your Duas .May our children become beacons of Islam ,This amazing and simple Deen of ours . Salaams and Duas

  2. Jazakillah khair , I listened to part of the lecture and loved your review . I look forward to your upcoming posts on sahih Bukhari .

  3. Dear sisters,,, Amina and Ummeadam Do accept my heartiest thanks and appreciation for taking time and sending me your feedback… JazakAllah khairan kaseera
    I hope and pray that Allah allows me to keep on writing for His sake… ameen

  4. Asa wr wbI m really grateful to u for these benefecial mails.I wanted to attend this class online but i cant as i have to pik my kids from skul but coz of ur mail i felt as if i attended the class.Jazakallah khairun kaseera Is it possible for u to send me the recording or audio of the live class so i can listen to it later…only if possible nd easy 🙂

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

    • jazakAllah khairan for your encouraging words… I would love to share the recording but actually they only get uploaded on the website after sometime… but I found out that the lecture gets re-broadcast live on the same link at 5 in the evening… so do try and catch it then if you can:):) may Allah make it easy for all of us to learn these gems ameen

Leave a Reply

