The Soothing balm…

Whenever I used to hear people telling their sad stories of how much they miss their children after they left home for studying abroad or in pursuit of jobs… I used to think why do they have such empty lives? I had this crazy idea that if you are passionate about your work as a servant of Allah and you are so busy pleasing him with all kinds of different activities then surely there will be no question of missing anyone else…

And so whenever I heard women telling others of the house looking so empty after the marriage of their daughter or when their son moved away with his own family… I used to remind myself to get extra attached to Allah and His religion so that I will not be bothered with all this sentimentality when this same thing will happen to me…

But I was wrong!!! Because the moment my elder son got his appointment letter for a job that will take him hundreds of miles away from home…I began to feel an ache similar to the hunger pangs in the last hours of a long day of fasting…

Now this was a complete surprise for me because I had thought missing someone to be an emotional thing… so why this ache?

And then the truth hit me… surely it is so natural for the mother to feel the separation so why should it not affect me? Being passionate about the purpose of your life does not make you an emotionless robot…

Being a human you will feel the pain of separation But then this passion of pleasing Allah will act as a balm to soothe away your heart ache…

Your relationship with Allah will not stop you from being a weak human… but you will have this great experience of becoming strong by sharing your weakness and your tears in front of ONLY Allah… He will be enough for you:)

His love and His mercy are the real treasure which we should all be striving for because when you have Him in your heart and in your life then you can never be lonely… never helpless… never alone…

One thought on “The Soothing balm…

Leave a Reply

