Allah! guide this heart…

This morning as I was about to eat my breakfast, I was tempted to put a little bit of sugar on top of a spoonful of cream and enjoy this little treat after my regular meal… My wiser self warned me that sugar is not good for health, but I protested that after all it was just a tiny bit… the next warning came that these crystals were too big and might cause some tooth ache, but I said no they will dissolve and won’t do me any harm… and so I sat down to enjoy my meal… but there erupted some little argument between me and my dear husband… it was no big deal but due to that preoccupation I got careless in eating and one tough little sugar crystal hit hard on my sensitive molar and made me yell in pain… a silent yell which echoed through my heart and soul… unheard by those around me!!

Well I thought it was a good punishment for not listening to my inner warnings… and now Allah knows how long will I have to bear this pulsating wave of pain before it subsides… if it does!

Well Allah is so kind… Alhamdulillah the pain became bearable in a little while and I continued with my household chores… It was during the Zuhr prayer that I decided to read the same verses of chapter 64 (surah-At-Taghabun) about which I had written an article, couple of days back…

 مَاۤ اَصَابَ مِنۡ مُّصِيۡبَةٍ اِلَّا بِاِذۡنِ اللّٰهِ‌ؕ وَمَنۡ يُّؤۡمِنۡۢ بِاللّٰهِ يَهۡدِ قَلۡبَهٗ‌ؕ وَاللّٰهُ بِكُلِّ شَىۡءٍ عَلِيۡمٌ‏

 No disaster strikes except by permission of Allah . And whoever believes in Allah – He will guide his heart. And Allah is Knowing of all things. (64:11)

That time when I wrote about it, I was just seeing it from a limited vision… that if someone hurts me then I should remind myself of my faith in Allah and if I trust Him then He will put comfort in my heart…

But today as I read these words amid the waves of pain, I began to see a much bigger picture in this amazing ayah. I felt like every single thing that happens to us in this life is contained in the word “Museebah”…whether good or bad… but our problem is that we take the “good” for granted and the “bad”becomes an event!!

The other thing is that when we respond to these happenings then most of the time we just follow our heart whichever way it takes us… we seldom think of Allah but jump to conclusions according to our habitual way of reacting. Now these responses might be good and beneficial or they might be harmful but we never analyse or question them… even though these reactions are not to be taken lightly because they are like the turning points on the road of life. If we react positively then we go forward in the positive direction and vice versa.

So today this ayah told me that whenever I am facing some situation I should have faith in Allah… and trust Him to guide my heart i.e. guide me to the right understanding of that specific situation.

And then I realized that faith is not something to be taken for granted. It is not automatic. Rather it is a conscious decision to believe in the guidance of Allah every time we are faced with some situation… Because the purpose of pain is far greater than just getting rid of this pain…

Everything comes from Allah to teach us something… to make us better… but we only think of how much we are hurting and so we our vision remains limited to just getting out of that unpleasant situation… without learning anything!!

But if we put those things before Allah in complete faith and trust then Allah will not only comfort us but also guide our heart to think the right thoughts, have balance in our feelings, say the right words and do the right thing.


2 thoughts on “Allah! guide this heart…

Leave a Reply

