I need Taqwa…

Alhamdulillahi Rabbil Alamin (All praise and thanks to Allah) for giving us this beautiful month of Ramadaan. To me it seems like a whole package of hope and opportunity…

An opportunity of attaining closeness to Allah,

A hope of coming out of the negative habits,

A chance of getting forgiveness from past sins

AND a great time for converting all dreams, wishes, desires into duas… having such excellent moments of special acceptance from Allah…

But what is the ultimate objective of all these activities?

Allah says in the Quran:

O you who believe, fasting is prescribed for you, as it was prescribed for those before you, that you may get Taqwa.

What is Taqwa?

Taqwa means the highest level of awareness and inner strength with which we not only recognize the good from bad but also have the motivation to follow the right and abstain from the wrong ways.

We have all experienced this dilemma that we know something to be bad for us but still we cannot resist it… or sometimes we might have the highest dreams and ambitions and also have the clear vision of what is the way to achieve that but we somehow don’t manage to do the things which we know to be most essential for our success… why is it so?

It is because we don’t have the desired level of Taqwa in our hearts. This lack of Taqwa makes us weak against our Nafs and so we continue to make decisions according to our desires, instead of knowledge.

So here is our golden opportunity to build up on our Taqwa in this blessed month. Every good deed that we do (including fasting) should be done with this consciousness that it is not an end in itself… rather it is to purify my heart from all bad things… I want to purify my character from all bad habits… I want to cleanse my life from all sins and I want to build up this inner awareness and strength called Taqwa…

 

2 thoughts on “I need Taqwa…

  1. I love your writings so much. They open up a new world of quran with a different perspective. I was looking for something special to read in between studying for tests and I stumbled upon your blog and my heart is so grateful to god that he has granted people like you passion for knowledge and your willingness to share it with people. I hope allah grants you forgiveness and a great reward for sharing knowledge with people who have trouble understanding the beauty of quran and islam. Ameen.

    • Dear Nida, your comment served as a great encouragement and motivation. May Allah accept our efforts in His cause. InshaAllah I will try to do my best to convey as much as I know or understand… because it is a duty on all of us to spread forward whatever knowledge Allah grants us out of His mercy. Lots of duas for your success in both worlds.. wasalam:)

Leave a Reply

