Resolutions for the new year…

Thinking on the new year resolutions I thought that instead of going straight to the targets which I want to achieve maybe I need to look into my attitude and try to find out why I don’t manage to complete what I start and why am I always lagging behind the targets I set for myself? After much thinking I have found that although I can name many reasons (excuses) for not doing things which I have to do but then all those reasons did not prevent me from doing what I have done…so how did I do that? It means that no matter how many problems we have we still manage to do the things which our minds recognize as “absolutely essential”. So just having a desire to reach a goal is not going to take me there. Rather I should have a firm conviction in the utmost necessity of doing a particular task at a particular time, knowing very clearly the benefits of doing so as well as the awareness of loss in not doing it.
Every single day I should look at my planner and ask myself:
1- Do I really want to do these things?
2- Why do I want to do it?
3- What is the advantage?
4- What will I lose if I don’t do it?
5- How much time do I have?
6- If I am putting things off into an uncertain tomorrow then who am I fooling?
7- Will it be ok if I go from this world without doing anything substantial for my Akhirah?
8- What if I know today is my last day of this life…will I still be lazy?
9- How do I know that it is not the last day?
10- Then why am I content with my lukewarm efforts?

 

 

Leave a Reply

The Seekers Path

for the seekers of Allah's love and pleasure

iLookiListen

..on Islam

Talib-e-Ilm

Seeking Ilm, Seeking Jannah

procrastinator92

A fine WordPress.com site

Heart Talks

Fiqh-ul-Quloob made easy.

Lighten It Up

Light Up Your Life With Islam

Towards the Right Path

Ya Allah! Guide us towards the right path!

YasSarNalQuR'aN

to understand, practice, and transform the world

